Our Roots Run Deep
Rowat Cut Stone & Marble Co was originally founded in 1882 by John Rowat, a Scottish immigrant. Unlike other businesses that focused mainly on granite, Rowat worked granite, limestone, and marble. John passed down the company to his son, who then passed it on to his son. It was a family-run business until the Rowats sold the company to Teresa Van Vleet Danos in 1985. Rowat was located in downtown Des Moines until August 2017, when we relocated to Norwalk, IA, and took on new ownership under Adis Halilovic.
New Ownership, Same Tradition of Superior Craftsmanship
Adis has extensive experience in fabrication and installation, and his crew of fabricators and office staff
We also provide residential and commercial stone restoration and design services. Some of our work is still done by hand, carrying on our tradition of quality craftsmanship that began over 130 years ago.
Serving Our Community & Beyond
Rowat recently hosted a business delegation from Norwalk’s sister city, Vushtrri, Kosovo, and is currently planning work with the city. We also donated limestone to use as the cornerstone of a new elementary school in Norwalk. As a mainstay of the Des Moines area for well over a century, we are dedicated to preserving the area’s culture and donating resources, time, and money to local organizations such as the Home Builder Association, The Sherman Hill Historic District, Des Moines Public Schools, the Centre for Arts & Artists, and more. Our work can be viewed at the Salisbury House, Central Campus, Des Moines Police Station, the Hubble, Ola Babcock Miller and Merchant Buildings, as well as the Merle Hay Mausoleum.